8x8 vs RingCentral: which one actually fits a 10-200 seat office (2026)
Pick RingCentral, because you can see the price before a sales call. In the UK, pick Premium: £24.99 or £28.99 per user per month (checked Sep 2026). In the US, pick Advanced: $25 per user per month billed annually, $35 billed monthly (checked Sep 2026). 8x8's own pricing page shows no self-serve price at all — every path leads to "Chat with Sales" or "Request a Quote" (checked Sep 2026). Don't pick RingCentral if you're a UK office under 20 seats that needs unlimited calling.
Disclosure: As of 27 September 2026 we have no affiliate or referral deal with RingCentral or 8x8. Neither company has seen this page or paid for it. We plan to earn referral commission from phone providers in future. If that changes for either vendor, this line will say so.
Last updated: 27 September 2026. We checked RingCentral's prices on its own US and UK pricing pages. 8x8's website blocked every automated check we ran, so its figures come from 8x8's own help centre, its annual report to US regulators (10-K) and its UK government supplier listing.
At a glance
| RingCentral US | RingCentral UK | 8x8 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tier we'd pick | Advanced | Premium | We can't pick one without a price |
| Price per user per month | Advanced $25 annual / $35 monthly (checked Sep 2026) | Premium £24.99 / £28.99, annual / monthly (checked Sep 2026) | No self-serve price shown anywhere on 8x8's pricing page (checked Sep 2026). Request a quote |
| Cheapest tier | Core $20 annual / $30 monthly (checked Sep 2026) | Essentials £12.99 / £17.99, annual / monthly (checked Sep 2026) | No self-serve price shown anywhere on 8x8's pricing page (checked Sep 2026). Request a quote |
| Which seat count the price is for | 1-5 users. The 6-100 and 100+ prices did not load for us | Not stated in our check | Unknown |
| Tax on top | Yes. US federal, 911 and state fees "may apply", amount not stated | VAT: not stated on the page. Unknown | Unknown |
| Minimum contract | Set in your order form, not the terms (ToS s.2(E)). Renews automatically unless you give 30 days' notice | Unknown. RingCentral's UK terms page returned an error | Unknown. 8x8's terms page was blocked |
| Leaving early | You pay the rest of the term | Unknown | Unknown |
| Setup fee | Unknown. None shown, none ruled out | Unknown | Unknown |
| Porting cost | RingCentral pays to move your number in | No fee to move your number out | Free if you buy an 8x8 licence for that number |
| Porting time | Not checked for the US | 5-10 or 15-30 business days. RingCentral's own documents give both | Usually within 10 business days, up to 4 weeks. No UK figure |
| Support | 24/7 support included on Core and Advanced | "Unlimited chat and phone support" on every tier | Commercial hours unknown. A 2024 UK public-sector listing says 08:00-18:30 weekdays, plus 24/7 phone |
| CRM integration (Salesforce etc.) | Advanced only. Core: "Not available" | Premium (RingCentral's own page contradicts itself on Standard) | Salesforce, HubSpot and Dynamics integrations exist. Which licence includes them: unknown |
| Unlimited calling | US and Canada only | Capped minutes. Unlimited EMEA-zone calling not available on Essentials or under 20 users | "Unlimited (subject to fair use)" on X1-X4. X1 covers one country, X2 covers 14 |
| Renting desk phones | Multi-year contract only | Multi-year contract only | Unknown |
Who should pick RingCentral
- A UK office of 20 or more seats that wants its CRM connected and plenty of call minutes. Pick Premium, not Essentials. Essentials is the £12.99 headline (checked Sep 2026). It has no CRM integration, no Microsoft 365, Google or Slack integration and no call recording. It includes 100 outbound minutes per user. Premium includes 2,000 minutes per user, multi-site admin and, on RingCentral's plan cards, Salesforce and Zendesk integration. At 20 users you also clear the bar for unlimited EMEA-zone calling. Ask RingCentral to confirm it's in your quote.
- A US office that runs on Salesforce or Zendesk. Pick Advanced, not Core. Core lists CRM integrations as "Not available". So your real entry price is $25 a user billed annually or $35 billed monthly (checked Sep 2026), not the $20 headline.
- Anyone who wants a real number before spending an hour with a salesperson. RingCentral puts its tier prices on its own site in dollars and pounds. You can build a budget from this page and hold any quote to it.
Not for: A UK office of 10-19 seats that needs unlimited calling. RingCentral won't give you unlimited EMEA-zone calling on any tier with under 20 users. Also not for anyone who might need to leave inside a year. RingCentral's US terms make you pay the rest of the term.
When 8x8 is worth a call
- You're a UK office of 10-19 seats that needs unlimited calling. RingCentral can't do this. 8x8's help centre (updated April 2026) lists its X1 licence as unlimited domestic calling in one country, including the UK, subject to 8x8's fair-use policy. We don't know the price.
- Your staff call across Europe or North America every day. 8x8's X2 licence covers 14 countries, including the UK, US, Canada, Ireland, France, Germany, Spain and the Netherlands. X3 covers 32 and X4 covers 48. RingCentral US limits "unlimited" to the US and Canada and charges international calls at its published rates.
- You're heading past 500 staff, or you already hold an 8x8 quote. 8x8's 2026 annual report says its focus has shifted to organisations "with 500 to 10,000 employees". If that's you, you're who 8x8 is building for. If you have a quote, check it against the benchmark table below.
Not for: A 10-200 seat office that wants to compare prices without talking to sales. That office is below 8x8's stated focus, and we found no price it could check.
Who should pick neither
You need to walk away at any time without paying a penalty
RingCentral's US terms charge "all sums remaining unpaid ... for the remainder of the then-current Term" if you leave early. We couldn't read 8x8's terms. Until 8x8 shows you its terms in writing, don't assume they're better. What to do instead: before you sign anything, ask each vendor for the initial term and the early-exit clause in writing.
You want rented desk phones on a short contract
RingCentral rents phones "only with multi-year contract" in both the US and UK. We found nothing on 8x8's hardware terms. What to do instead: buy handsets outright, or get the rental term in writing before you sign.
You're a UK buyer who needs VAT-inclusive prices and full UK terms before any sales conversation
RingCentral's UK page doesn't say whether prices include VAT, and its UK terms page returned an error when we checked. 8x8's pages wouldn't load for us at all. You'll need to talk to sales at both.
What we found that no other comparison says
1. You can price RingCentral today. 8x8's own pricing page won't give you a number.
8x8 does not publish a self-serve price for a business this size, as of 27 September 2026. We checked 8x8's own pricing page directly. It's headed "Pricing and packages," with four product cards — Contact Center, CX Beyond the Contact Center, Communications APIs, and Unified Communications (this is 8x8 Work, the product this page compares). Every card offers only "How it Works," "Chat with Sales" and "Request a Quote." None shows a per-user figure. The only way to get an 8x8 number is to talk to 8x8. RingCentral publishes its prices on its own site, with no sales call required.
We went looking for any price list 8x8 had published itself. The only one we found was 8x8 UK's submission to the UK government's G-Cloud 14 framework. It gives a range of "£2.65 to £113.40 a user a month", in a pricing document dated May 2024 (checked Sep 2026). That's public-sector pricing from over two years ago. It covers everything from a lobby phone to the top contact-centre licence. It is not a price you can buy at, and we're not using it as one. It does show you how wide 8x8's range is and why "8x8 costs £X" is a claim you shouldn't trust without a date.
The other half of the finding comes from 8x8 itself. Its 2026 annual report says 8x8's "strategic focus has increasingly shifted toward ... organizations, particularly those with 500 to 10,000 employees." A 10-200 seat office sits below that. Those two facts are why we pick RingCentral: you can check its price, and it's aimed at your size.
2. The UK picture, from RingCentral's own UK pages
No page-one comparison covers the UK. Here's RingCentral UK as its own pricing page showed it (checked Sep 2026).
| UK tier | Price/user/month, annual / monthly | Outbound minutes/user | CRM integration | Multi-site admin | Unlimited EMEA calling |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | £12.99 / £17.99 (checked Sep 2026) | 100 | No | No | No |
| Standard | £19.99 / £23.99 (checked Sep 2026) | 750 | Page contradicts itself | No | Not under 20 users |
| Premium | £24.99 / £28.99 (checked Sep 2026) | 2,000 | Yes | Yes | Not under 20 users |
| Ultimate | £29.99 / £33.99 (checked Sep 2026) | 4,000 | Not recorded in our check | Yes | Not under 20 users |
- VAT is unknown. The page doesn't say "ex VAT" or "inc VAT" anywhere we could find. Ask.
- Minutes are capped. UK calls are not unlimited by default. Essentials gives you 100 outbound minutes per user. That's under five minutes a working day.
- CRM integration: assume Premium. RingCentral's UK comparison table marks CRM integration as included on Standard. Its plan cards list it only under Premium. Until RingCentral confirms in writing, budget for Premium.
- Porting takes 5-10 or 15-30 business days, depending on which RingCentral document you read. Its support article says 5-10. Its UK number-transfer checklist says "It usually takes 15-30 business days". Plan around 30. RingCentral processes porting requests "between the hours of 8 am – 5 pm local time, Monday-Friday."
- Move your numbers out before you cancel. RingCentral's UK numbering policy says numbers not yet ported away "may be released" when an account is cancelled.
- Support: every UK tier lists "Unlimited chat and phone support" under its 24x7 support row.
- The trial is small. A maximum of five users and two desk phones, with 50 minutes of domestic calls per user.
For 8x8 in the UK: its help centre lists X1 with unlimited calling within the UK (subject to fair use). Its porting page is US-focused and gives no UK timeline. The only UK support hours we found are in the 2024 public-sector listing: 08:00 to 18:30 weekdays for standard enquiries, plus 24/7 phone support. Current UK price: unknown.
Where the published comparisons get it wrong
- They quote 8x8 prices without saying when they were checked. Several page-one comparisons give 8x8 at roughly $24-$44 per user per month, and it reads like a current list price. We couldn't verify any current 8x8 price from 8x8 itself. If a page gives you an 8x8 figure without a date and a source, treat it as history.
- They're all American. We found no UK-specific section on any page ranking for this search. No GBP prices, no UK porting times, no UK support hours.
- Half of them won't choose. "It depends on your needs" isn't an answer. Ours is RingCentral, for the reasons above.
- Some are written by rival vendors or quote brokers. Two page-one results come from other phone companies, and two come from brokers steering you to a quote form. Check who wrote a comparison before you trust its verdict.
Real costs
RingCentral US: the headline is the cheapest way to pay
The headline price is for annual billing, at the 1-5 user bracket. Here's what monthly billing costs per user per year at list price (checked Sep 2026):
| Tier | Annual billing, per user/year | Monthly billing, per user/year | Extra for monthly |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core | $240 ($20 × 12) | $360 ($30 × 12) | $120 (+50%) |
| Advanced | $300 ($25 × 12) | $420 ($35 × 12) | $120 (+40%) |
Our arithmetic from RingCentral's published prices. Multiply by your seat count once RingCentral gives you the price for your bracket. We couldn't see the 6-100 and 100+ user prices.
- Taxes and fees. RingCentral says the "Federal Universal Service Recovery Fee, E911 Service Fee, Compliance and Administrative Cost Recovery Fee, 911 Fee, and State and Local Taxes, may apply." The amount isn't stated.
- Leaving early. You pay "all sums remaining unpaid for the Services for the remainder of the then-current Term." Leave an annual Advanced plan after three months and you owe nine more months. That's $225 per user at the $25 list price (checked Sep 2026).
- Renewal. The term renews automatically unless you give notice at least 30 days before it ends. RingCentral only has to tell you about a price rise 30 days before the term ends.
- Mobile User extensions. Adding one is free. If it's used to make or receive calls in a month, you're charged "at the same rate per month as you are charged for Digital Lines."
- Calls outside the US and Canada are charged at RingCentral's international rates.
- Add-ons (US, checked Sep 2026): extra local or toll-free numbers $4.99/month. Vanity numbers $30 one-time plus $4.99/month. International toll-free numbers $14.99/user/month plus $25 one-time. Call Queues Booster $35. Business SMS Booster $25. AI Receptionist starts at $39. Core includes 100 toll-free minutes and 25 texts per user a month. Advanced includes 1,000 and 100.
- Add-ons (UK, checked Sep 2026): free-phone or non-geographic numbers £2/month. Local numbers from £2/month. International free-phone from £9.99/month plus £16.99 one-time. Call Queues Booster £28/month.
- Desk phones: renting needs a multi-year contract. We didn't check purchase prices.
- Setup fee: unknown. The pricing page shows none but doesn't say there isn't one.
8x8: what to ask for in any quote
We can't give you 8x8's costs, so here's how to judge a quote. The right-hand column is RingCentral's published answer, to use as your benchmark.
| Ask 8x8 | RingCentral's published answer (checked Sep 2026) |
|---|---|
| Price per user per month for your seat count, annual and monthly? | US Advanced $25 / $35. UK Premium £24.99 / £28.99 |
| Which X licence includes your CRM (Salesforce, HubSpot, Dynamics)? | US: Advanced. UK: Premium |
| Is the price with or without VAT or US taxes and fees? | US: fees extra. UK: not stated |
| Initial term and what you owe if you leave early? | Set per order. Early exit means paying out the term |
| Setup, installation and training fees? | Not shown |
| Call-recording storage and extra phone numbers? | US numbers $4.99/month. UK from £2/month |
| Support hours on your licence, and is premium support extra? | 24/7 on every tier |
| What does the fair-use policy allow on "unlimited" calling? | US: unlimited in US and Canada. UK: capped minutes |
| UK porting timeline? | 5-10 or 15-30 business days |
| Can you rent desk phones on a 12-month term? | No. Multi-year only |
On porting, 8x8 says the transfer is free "as long as you have purchased a license from 8x8 for the number". Calls to a number that's still porting keep going to your old provider until the move completes.
FAQ
Is 8x8 cheaper than RingCentral?
We can't tell you, and nobody else can honestly tell you either without a dated quote. 8x8's own pricing page (checked 27 September 2026) shows no self-serve price anywhere — every product funnels to "Chat with Sales" or "Request a Quote." RingCentral US Advanced is $25 per user per month billed annually (checked Sep 2026). Get an 8x8 quote and compare it with that.
How long does porting take with RingCentral?
RingCentral's own documents disagree. Its support article says 5-10 business days. Its UK number-transfer checklist says "15-30 business days, but the process is often faster." Plan for 30 and keep your old service live until the port completes.
Does RingCentral Core include CRM integration?
No. RingCentral's US comparison table lists "CRM integrations with Salesforce, Zendesk, and more" as "Not available" on Core and "Included in plan" on Advanced. In the UK, Essentials has no CRM integration. Budget for Premium.
Can I get unlimited calls with RingCentral in the UK?
Not on Essentials, and not with fewer than 20 users. UK tiers come with 100 to 4,000 outbound minutes per user. RingCentral lists unlimited EMEA-zone business calling only for larger accounts on Standard or above.
Does 8x8 charge to port my number?
No, if you buy an 8x8 licence for that number. 8x8 says most transfers finish within 10 business days, but some take up to 4 weeks.
More comparisons
Related: RingCentral review · 8x8 review · RingCentral pricing
Last updated 27 September 2026. Checked by Compare Phone Systems editorial team.